One night only – me and my girl Oprah

and about 19,000+ other people!  I am still riding high from the fact that I was one of the lucky 19,000+ people who would be seeing Ms. O (as in the Big O…as in my virtual BFF…as in Sophia from the Color Purple …as in Oprah Winfrey) during one of the last 3 shows.  Yes, I was going to see her at the taping of the Farewell Season: Oprah’s Surprise Spectacular. (I still can’t believe it!)

Now you may ask…how did I get tickets?  I simply submitted my name on her website.  Yep, it was just that simple.   I had stumbled on her sight (I can’t even remember why I was on there) and I saw that they were taking open reservations for her show on April 29th and April 30th only.  Friday, April 29th was a wash because I totally forgot all about it.  And I almost forgot about it on Saturday, had it not been for a commercial on TV talking about the last Oprah shows.  So I quickly ran to my laptop and tried submitting my name but of course everything that could have gone wrong did (forgot my user name and password for the Oprah site; internet slow; laptop crashed, etc.).  All those things happening just had to be a sign that I wasn’t going to get the tickets, but I went ahead and submitted me and my friend’s name anyway.  What the hell, I thought.

On Sunday (May 1st) around 6:00 pm I was looking for an email with my offer letter for a new position I just accepted when I saw this…

I couldn’t believe it!  I won tickets to go see Oprah!  My BFF and I had a GREAT time.  Chicago was wonderful…a little windy but other than that it was sunny and welcoming and we had a blast!

Checking off one as complete from my Mighty Awesome List!

Here are some pictures from my little adventure…

Tickets to the Oprah Show...floor seats baby! Too sweet!

Michigan Avenue

Beautiful Tulips! I love the city!

Me and my bff Jonetta on our way to see Oprah!

Waiting in line for the show. Doors opened at 5:00 pm.

OPRAH!

Inside the United Center.

OPRAH! I see you!!!!

Simon

Stevie!

Tyler Perry

Oprah and Jamie Foxx

It's not a real Chicago trip without getting some Garrett's popcorn. Carmel and cheddar mix please!

Oprah, if you’re reading this…thanks for the past 25 years and thank you for allowing me to spend this one special night with you.  And if you’re looking for some new talent…give me a call.  🙂

1 Comment

Filed under life, the list

One response to “One night only – me and my girl Oprah

  1. dawn

    oh my gosh, this is so awesome and amazing and thrilling that you got to see the last show and see Oprah. I have loved her forever also. She is the best and it was always a dream to see one of her shows. Of course I never got to though, would have loved to win tickets and taken a friend with me. I’m so happy you got to see the last show because that’s even a little cooler then a regular show. Great pictures from it too.

Leave a Reply

