Happy New Year!!!

Happy New Year!!!!  This past holiday I promised myself that I would focus 100% of my attention and time and just “be” in the moment.  I wanted to enjoy all the sights, smells, tastes, and sounds of the holiday season and not simply just go through the motions that we often times find ourselves doing.  So my thought was to do this effectively, I had to disconnect myself from technology.  Yes, that meant not powering up my laptop and turning off the cell phone (or at least putting in on silent) so that I could just focus on “being” in the moment.   Now I would be lying to you if I said that it wasn’t hard…because it was.  I am so used to being “on” and “in the know” and “accessible” that totally disconnecting from all things technology related is/was very hard.  And yes, there were times that I did get online and check Facebook and a few of my favorite blogs but I limited the amount of time that I was “on”.   This mini break was just what I needed – it gave me time to reconnect with my family and friends and to just “be”.  It also gave me time to glance back on 2010 and celebrate all that was good during this year and to think about all the wonderful things I would like to do in 2011.  One of the things that I have wanted to do was to take another online scrapbooking class.  So I signed up for Ali Edwards’ One Little Word class over at Big Picture Classes.  For the past few years Ali has always started off the New Year by selecting one little word to focus/meditate on for the year.  I joined Ali in 2010 for the first time (you can see my word here) and well I really enjoyed myself.  So I decided to do it again.  My word for 2011 is Story.  I will talk more about my word, why I selected it (or better yet why I think this word selected  me) and give you a little sneak peek on what I am working on to document my word in a later post.  If you would like more information on One Little Word then I urge you to check out Ali’s blog

I am excited about 2011 and all that it brings.  Happy New Year to you all and I wish you a year that is prosperous and filled with joy!

2 Comments

Filed under life, one little word

2 responses to “Happy New Year!!!

  1. Celina Wyss

    Good for you for taking some time for yourself. I hope you had a fabulous Holiday! Happy New Year!

  2. Pingback: One Little Word 2011 | Carpe Diem

Leave a Reply

