Reverb 10 Prompt – Appreciate

December 14 – Appreciate

What’s the one thing you have come to appreciate most in the past year? How do you express gratitude for it? (Author: Victoria Klein)

The one thing that I have come to appreciate the most this past year is time.  2010 has been a tough year for those close to me as my loved ones have had to deal with what feel like a lot of death.  It started with the death of my sister’s godfather on Christmas day  2009 and ended with the death of my grandmother’s dearest friend whom I have called my “aunt” my entire life.  Both Sonny and Aunt Lucille were very dear to me and were instrumental in molding me into the woman who I have become.  Losing them has made me reflect on the all the time that I have been so lucky to spend with them…all of the talks that we had…and the stories that they shared with me.  The greatest gift that they shared with me…something that I will cherish for the rest of my life is the gift of their time.

My way of showing my gratitude of this amazing gift, is by giving others whom I love the gift of my time.  It’s when I stop doing whatever I’m doing and fully engage with the other person.  No mutli-tasking…no texting…no checking emails or facebook…it’s just them and me…spending time with each other.

Leave a comment

Filed under #reverb10

Leave a Reply

