How do you know where you’re going if you don’t have a plan?

Last night I caught up with a good friend of mine and we met for dinner.  It was great seeing her and having some much needed girl time that was so long over due.  During dinner, she mentioned how she has decided to become a Life Coach specializing in goal setting and helping people reach their goals.  Being an amazing artist, she described to me one of the visual techniques she is thinking about using with her clients.  She got the idea from her goal collages that she used to make every year around her birthday.  After the birth of her 2nd child, she kind of got away from making them, however one day she stumbled on one she made right after she got married.

I thought the idea of making a goal collage or as some people call them vision boards is a GREAT idea!  I am a huge fan of The Secret and they talk a lot about putting things out into the Universe and creating vision boards is one of the things they encourage.  Now I am big of having a plan and setting goals, however I am terrible when it comes to writing them down.  But there is something said to putting you plan on paper…it makes it real, and ultimately makes you accountable.  I also believe that there is power in writing your goals/dreams down.  By doing so you are telling the universe that this is what you  want…and sometimes it comes true.  I will be the first to tell you that this is true.  You see last year while at work, I created a list of things that I wanted to accomplish and when I wanted to accomplish them.  I printed the list and stuck it in a folder and well I forgot about it.  This was back in August 2009.  One of the items on my list was to quit my current job by January 4, 2010.  Now keep in mind, I did not think about it nor did I look at the list again for the rest of 2009.

Then last month, while at my new job I was looking though my bag and came across the folder and the list that I had long forgotten about.  While scanning through the list I came across one of the goals that I had wanted to accomplish by January 4, 2010 which as quit my job and it dawned to me that I had actually accomplished my goal.  You see my start date at my new job was January 4, 2010!  I was speechless, the power of the universe, the power of God was at work and all I had to do was claim it.

On the drive home from dinner, I started thinking about what goals I wanted to accomplish for 2010.  I started to visualize how I wanted my life to be within the next 12 months.  This morning I put together a little visualization board.  Here is it…
I’m thinking about printing the collage and keeping a scrapbook of all of my accomplishments…yes, I’m claiming it all ready.  In future posts I will go into detail about each element of the vision board.  This project didn’t take a lot of time and it was actually quite fun, looking for the pictures.

So there…it’s out there.  The universe knows what it is my heart desires…now I just have to put the plan together and that should be easy.

Do you know where you’re going?  Do you have a plan in place?  And remember ~ “He who fails to plan, plans to fail.”

Leave a comment

Filed under planning, the universe

Leave a Reply

