Today, I give myself permission…

Last week one of my sands (for all you non-Greeks ~ my sorority sister) was in town for the weekend and she wanted to get together with me and our other sands that also lives in Georgia. Getting together with them was just what I needed. I was in desperate need of some “girl time” and what better way to spend it than with your good friends. As usual we spent the night catching up on what was happening in each other’s lives. When it came time for me to give my update, I told them that I was still at my J.O.B. and not really “feeling” it anymore. I really don’t see any growth potential within the company and if I stay at the company I will be at this desk (see below) for a long time.

As the night progressed my sands said something that really struck me…she simply said that she felt that I was waiting for “permission” to leave my J.O.B. That I was waiting for my turn to come around. Boy was she right on the money! But it was the next statement that she made that REALLY hit home…she simply said that it could be possible that “my turn” will never present itself. That what I need to do is give myself permission to finally leave my J.O.B. and pursue my entrepreneurial endeavors. She said that I might be surprised to find that this [following my entrepreneurial dream] may be the thing that catapults my family to the next level.

WOW! {that is what I was saying in my head}

You know the funny thing is that she wasn’t saying anything that was new to me. Because God knows I have had this same conversation with myself in my head. I think what actually did it for me was actually hearing those same words out loud and coming from someone else. You know it’s one thing to know that you are on to something great…to have confidence in yourself and your abilities but its another thing to have some else say it to you. That was just what I needed!


The is of my desk at my J.O.B. I think it’s a lovely desk and as much as I complain about my desk, for the past 287 days this desk has helped provide a steady stream of income and health benefits for me and my family. And for that I say thank you desk. But all things must come to an end and beloved desk our time to part is coming up soon. Today, Friday September 25, 2009, I hereby give myself permission to pursue my dream full-time which means that I will have to leave you dearest desk. But don’t you fret my love for I know that someone will soon come to take my place and she too will come to love and appreciate you and in return you will provide her with all of the good things that you have provided me with.

WHEW! Saying that felt good…freeing!

Why is it that we wait for someone else to give us permission to live our lives the way we want to? Is this what almost being 40 feels like? If so then I like this feeling!

I GIVE MYSELF PERMISSION!
I GIVE MYSELF PERMISSION!
I GIVE MYSELF PERMISSION!

THANKS SANDS!

Now its time for me to map out the plan… 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Aha Moments

2 responses to “Today, I give myself permission…

  1. Just found your blog through MomDot and I have to say I like what you're saying. Loved this post about your "desk"! And I love the ending, you give yourself permission!!! I'm putting that up on my bathroom mirror. And I'm posting it on my blog and linking it back here. And why? I too am at mid-life, I'm 45–who would have ever thought I'd hear myself utter that as being my age???? But there it is anyway, the bare truth of it–I too am largely where you describe yourself as being, except I am on the other side of, how did you say it, "having a mild nervous breakdown"…thank God. I too recently gave myself permission to pursue my own dreams/business, and I too am passionate about my children, and I'm blogging about my journey on my blog. So since we are so alike and I like your style, I'm making myself a follower of your blog and my first friend on MomDot. Theresa Jane

  2. Thanks so much for the comment Theresa. It's comforting to know that I'm not alone. I am trying to embrace this next phase in my life. It should be a fun ride! I will check out your blog as well.

Leave a Reply

