The letter

Today letters will be going out to my friends and family telling them about my new project. I’m excited and scared at the same time. I think this is a GREAT idea but then it is MY idea…what if no one else likes it or better yet, what if no one wants to participate????? I guess the ONLY way to find out is to actually hit send…right?

Below is the letter that will be going out:

Greetings Friends and Family:

I hope this email finds you well. I am writing you today to ask for your help. No, I don’t need any money if that is what you’re thinking. 🙂 What I need from you is some good old advice, a little bit of your time and lots of laughter. You see next year I will be turning 40 and I wanted to enter into this next phase of my life with a bang. So for the next 21 months (that’s from August 2009 to April 2011) I will chronicle my journey to 40 along with my first year as a 40 something woman. I will record this journey on my blog (I will send you the link once I’ve finished setting it up), through video and pictures.

This is purely a personal piece – yes, I’m doing it for fun, however if BRAVO or TLC decides to do a reality show of my journey I am open to discuss. 🙂


So now I’m sure you are thinking…

”So Erika, what do you need from me?”

Well I will tell you. I would like to reach out to you, at a time that is convenient with you of course and just pick your brain, maybe take a picture with you or even video tape our time together. Many of you will fall into one of the 5 categories below:

1) Flirting with 40 – you’re like me and are at the end of your 30’s getting ready to cross over into the big 4 0.
2) Finally 40 – Just turned 40 and loving every minute of it.
3) Floating through 40’s and Fabulous – You’re in your 40’s and enjoying all that is coming with it.
4) Flirting with 50 – you are at the end of you’re 40’s and are getting ready cross in the wonderful world of being 50.
5) 50+ and loving every minute of it – no explanation needed right?

From time to time, I would like to call or email you asking you questions about where you are within your 40’s journey. For those who are at the end of your 40’s and getting ready to cross over into your 50’s I want to know what your 40’s meant to you and how it has prepared you for the next phase of your life. I have chosen YOU because YOU are important to me and I value your views and opinion. (Did I do a good job of buttering you up?)

See I’m not asking for much, at least I don’t think I am. 🙂 So what do you think? Can you help me out?

In the next few weeks, you will receive another email from me the with the link to my blog and along with a few questions, so be on the look out. If you don’t want to participate, it’s no biggie, just let me know and I will not bother you. However I do invite you to check my blog from time to time to see how I’m progressing on this journey.

And so my journey begins…..

Lots of love to you!

Can’t wait to see what/if any responses I get.

Leave a comment

Filed under The beginning, the letter

Leave a Reply

