Why this blog????

Last week a strange thought occurred to me…”I’m going to be 40 next year”. Now as you can see there was nothing earth shattering or profound with the thought. It was actually very simplistic and honest. But it was one none the less that made me pause for if only a brief moment. Now that I am at the end of my 30’s and fast on the heels of 40 what’s next? I mean I’ve watched enough Oprah to have heard her say from time to time that the 40’s are the new 30 and that the 50’s are the new 40, but in “real talk” what does that really mean, if anything? Some people say that they feel like they have come into their own when in their 40’s but again what does that really mean?

That night I sat in our empty family room with the lights out and mediated on my new discovery. My mind working a mile a minute brought thoughts of goals not yet accomplished, places dreamt of visiting still unvisited, adventures to experience still only thoughts and time spent with loved ones still on the “to do” list. I went to bed exhausted with all of the things I still had left undone.

The next day I was sharing my new revelation with a co-worker and what she said to me was so simple yet it made such a profound impact on how I should look at approaching my 40’s. She simply said, “just because you’re entering the second phase of your life (turning 40) don’t let time limit what you want to do.” Basically what she was saying is that there is still time for me to do all the things that I said I wanted to do.

One of the things that I have always wanted to do was to write a book. Now a book about what, well I still haven’t figured that out yet. So I thought that the next best thing would be to write a blog, I mean it seems simple enough. Now a blog about what is the question…..

I decided to write a blog about my journey into my 40’s, the things that I discover and the people that I meet along the way. Not sure where it’s going to take me but I’m sure it’s going to be fun! Are you ready?????

and so the journey begins…..
2 Comments

Filed under The beginning

2 responses to “Why this blog????

  1. It seems like just yesterday that I brought you home from the hostipal (without a instruction book). Look at you now getting ready to turn forty. I thought I was still forty, what happen! I may need some help saying that my Baby Girl is forty. I know I will need help, lots of help:DYou are my JOY!

  2. Awwww thanks Grada! I think I turned out okay – even if I didn't come with an instruction book. 😉 You've done good!

Leave a Reply

